top of page

How I have dealt with being the Homeschooling Black Sheep


When my husband and I first made the decision to homeschool our children I thought the hardest part would be figuring out how we would homeschool them. Would we be un-schoolers? Would we follow a purchased curriculum? Would I be teaching them enough?

The reality was in the beginning the most difficult part of the decision was dealing with criticism from all angles. Sometimes complete strangers were just rude. Some acted as if we were physically harming our children by homeschooling.

Here are some of the many comments and questions I received on an almost daily basis.

( I still get these today)

" Don't they need to be around other kids?"

"They need school to socialize."

"Do you know what to teach them?"

"What, you don't want them around other kids?"

"No, they have to go to school. Homeschooling isn't right."

At first I would spend my time answering questions, telling them how well our children were learning and doing. Thinking perhaps this would help open peoples minds to different possibilities. After about a year I found this draining and futile. Many of the people I talked to were set in their ways, their point of view was right and nothing could change their minds. I believe that people have a fear of being wrong or knowing that there are other options.

So, how do I deal with being the black sheep now? I just politely say,

"Yes, they are homeschooled" if someone asks and if the person becomes argumentative I simply say,

"Everyone is entitled to their own opinion."

My husband and I do not have to defend our decision. We chose to homeschool because we knew it was right for us. Just like some parents choose to send their children to school because it is right for them. I try not to judge. Right and wrong in many instances is all on how you view things. Not everything is black and white there are many colors in between. Whenever I meet someone who tries to make me feel bad about "hurting" my children by homeschooling them. I simply look at them and know mine and my husbands love and special attention is in no way hurting them. They are the most happy, friendly, curious, sweet, and artistic little people

Visit my shop for Organic products made with love


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

Contact Me

I love hearing from you! You have any questions or comments or just want to tell me your going green story I would love to hear from you.

Success! Message received.

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Instagram Icon

© 2023 by Mother & More. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page